Category: Uncategorized

2021 Outstanding Producer Award

The 2021 Outstanding Producer Award was presented to Churchill Farms, a beef/forage farm in Harrison County. Cameron and Devon Churchill, second and third from left, were presented the award for implementing a successful rotational stocking program on their farm. Presenting the award were Indiana… Continue Reading “2021 Outstanding Producer Award”

Indiana Forage Council Holds 2021 Pasture Workshops

“Making a Difference on the Farm with Improved Grazing Systems” was a one and a half day long program that educated forage-livestock producers and professional personnel that interact with producers about important concepts needed to make improvements in grazing systems. Information provided had application… Continue Reading “Indiana Forage Council Holds 2021 Pasture Workshops”

Swapping Your Silage, AFGC Essay Competition Submission

Stephanie Newcomer, a student at Northwood High School, submitted an essay to the 2022 American Forage and Grassland Councils “National Youth in Forage Management Essay Competition”. The competition provides an opportunity for youth to write about grazing management or any other subject matter related… Continue Reading “Swapping Your Silage, AFGC Essay Competition Submission”

2021 IFC @ Indiana State Fair

Several Indiana Forage Council members came to the Indiana State Fair to provide volunteer work at the Indiana Beef Cattle Association’s food tent. It was a good opportunity to network with one another as they made sandwiches for fairgoers. Vice President Sam Stratton was… Continue Reading “2021 IFC @ Indiana State Fair”

Kevin Smith, Recipient of the 2021 Maurice E. Heath Award

Keith Johnson (left) and Miles Kuhn (right) present Kevin Smith with the 2021 Maurice E. Heath Award. Kevin was recognized for being an outstanding mentor to Purdue University students that have prepared feature articles for the Indiana Forage Council’s newsletter. Several of Kevin’s colleagues… Continue Reading “Kevin Smith, Recipient of the 2021 Maurice E. Heath Award”