2019 IFC Annual Meeting & Seminar

The 2019 Annual Meeting and Seminar was held in the Lusk Room at Turkey Run State Park on February 28. After business was conducted attendees enjoyed a meal that was followed by an award ceremony and a seminar.

Outstanding Producer Award

Receiving the award on behalf of the Feldun-Purdue Agricultural Center is Brad Shelton, Superintendent. The award was presented by President Jason Tower.

The Outstanding Producer Award recognizes a producer who excels in the production and utilization of forages on their farm. The 2019 award went to the Feldun-Purdue Agricultural Center.

Maurice E. Heath Award

Anna Morrow, program manager of the Midwest Cover Crops Council, receives the Maurice Heath Award from President Jason Tower.

The Maurice E. Heath Award was established upon Mr. Heath’s retirement from Purdue University. He was a strong advocate for soil conservation and forage research and education. The recipients of this award are recognized for their contributions to soil conservation and/or forage research and educational endeavors. Anna Morrow, a Director of the council, was the award recipient for her efforts in the layout and distribution of the quarterly newsletter.

Featured Speakers

Featured speakers at the seminar were Sara Creech and Jarred Brooke. Sara, owner of Blue Yonder Organic Farm, discussed how personal tragedy led to healing through farming and how working with nature led to restoration and hope. Her farm raises produce and pasture-raised meats.

Purdue University Wildlife Specialist, Jarred Brooke discussed common farmland wildlife, their habitat needs, and the steps forage producers can take to integrate wildlife into their farm businesses.

IFC Leadership Team

The IFC leadership team able to attend the conference (left to right): Miles Kuhn, Nick Minton, Jason Tower, Anna Morrow, Brooke Stefancik, Susannah Hinds, Andrew Brown, Keith Greiwe, Ryan Moore, Sam Stratton, Keith Johnson, Dave Friedersdorf, Steve Mikels. Not pictured: Miranda Edge








2019 AFGC

2019 American Forage and Grassland Conference

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Many Indiana Forage Council members made their way to St. Louis, Missouri for the American Forage and Grassland Conference on January 6-8. 2019.

Congratulations to Bryan Eash, a member of the Indiana Forage Council, from Hudson, IN. He was the first place winner in the Forage Spokesperson Competition.

Participants in the Forage Spokesperson Competition tell their story about use of forages in their farming business. Bryan, his mother Deb and Father Bob utilize high quality forages on their pastured dairy cattle farm.

2018 Forage Bowl Competition

2018 Collegiate Forage Bowl Competition

 Purdue University Forage Bowl Team Members (Pictured L to R) Agronomy Graduate Student Coach Brooke Stefancik, Riley Lewis, Jason Perkins, Sam Shaver, Madison Boston, and Faculty Coach Keith Johnson.

Purdue University’s 2018 Forage Bowl Team placed second in the 2018 Forage Bowl Competition held at the American Forage and Grasslands Council annual conference.



2019 Forage Bowl Competition

2019 Collegiate Forage Bowl Competition

2018 Forage Bowl Team
Purdue University Forage Bowl Team (Pictured L to R) Jason Kikkert (Fair Oaks, IN), Kyle Fogle (Greensburg, IN), Karson Harris (Sullivan, IN) and Hannah Padgett (Lafayette, IN)

Purdue University’s Forage Bowl Team went to the semifinals in the 2019 Forage Bowl Competition. Played like the game “Jeopardy,” the Purdue team squared off against five other collegiate teams.  All four team members were students in Keith Johnson’s Forage Management class in the spring semester of 2018. The team sends their appreciation to The Indiana Forage Council for the sponsorship of the student’s Purdue attire for the event.